

DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

13.07.2016

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF STUDIES IN PHYSICS HELD ON 12.7.16 AT 2.30 PM IN CONFERENCE HALL, VASAVI COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING.

The following members were present:

- 1. Prof. Anajan Kumar Giri , IIT Hyderabad, Osmania University Nominee
- 2. Prof. D. Suresh Babu, HOD, Department of Physics, OU, Hyderabad, Subject Expert
- 3. Prof J. Siva kumar, Professor, Department of Physics, OU, Hyderabad, Subject Expert
- 4. Dr. Satyanarayana, Asst. Professor, BITS, Hyderabad, Subject Expert
- 5. Prof. P. Madusudhan Rao, Professor and HOD, JNTU, Hyderabad, Subject Expert
- 6. Prof A. S. Sai Prasad, Professor and HOD, Department of Physics, VCE, Hyderabad
- 7. Dr M.Ramlingeswara Rao, Assoc. Prof. Department of Physics, VCE, Hyderabad
- 8. Dr. P.Venkateswara Rao, Assoc. Prof. Department of Physics, VCE, Hyderabad
- 9. Dr. V.Ravi Kumar, Assoc. Prof. Department of Physics, VCE, Hyderabad
- 10. Dr. G. Ramadevudu, Sr. Asst. Prof. Department of Physics, VCE, Hyderabad
- 11. Mr T. Satish Kumar, Asst. Prof. Department of Physics, VCE, Hyderabad

Prof. A. S. Sai Prasad, Head and chairman, BOS in Physics welcomed the members to the meeting. He informed the members that the college is implementing Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) with effect from the Academic Year 2016-17. Hence there is a need to revise the curriculum of Physics to be offered to first year B.E students in I and II semesters. He outlined the salient features proposed syllabi to the members. He further added that the proposed syllabi are prepared in consultation with the Heads of Engineering Departments of the college.

The following items are taken up for consideration:

1. Approval of ¼ B.E Scheme of Instruction and Examination under CBCS with effect from academic year 2016-2017

The Chairman, BOS presented the ¼ B.E, I and II semesters Scheme of Instruction and Examination under CBCS with effect from academic year 2016-2017.

The members suggested to conduct the laboratory sessions carefully as the stipulated time is only two clock hours.

It is resolved to approve the proposed scheme of instructions and examination of first year BE (I-semester and II-semester) under CBCS for the academic year 2016-2017.

2. Approval of syllabus contents of Physics curriculum of ¼ B.E for first and second semesters

The chairman, BOS in Physics presented the syllabus contents of the proposed curriculum of ¹/₄ B.E first and second semesters to the members.

The following suggestion are made by the members:

- a. The contents of the syllabi framed for the ¼ B.E course are selected to suit the requirements of Engineering students.
- b. However, the sequencing of Units of the syllabi may be reorganised for better understanding of the subject by the students.
- c. The following will be the appropriate order of the units for I semester
 - Unit 1: Fundamental of vibration
 - Unit 2: Physical optics
 - Unit 3: Introduction to fibre optics
 - Unit 4: Lasers
 - Unit 5: Dielectric and Magnetic Materials

- d. The following will be the appropriate order of the units for II semester ECE, CSE, IT and Mechanical Branches
 - Unit 1: Modern Physics
 - Unit 2: Crystallography and superconductivity
 - Unit 3: Band theory of solids
 - Unit 4: Physics of PN junction diode
 - Unit 5: Ac circuits and EM theory
- e. The following will be the appropriate order of the units for II semester Civil Engineering Branch
 - Unit 1: Fundamentals of statistical and quantum theory
 - Unit 2: Crystallography and superconductivity
 - Unit 3: Band theory of solids
 - Unit 4: Acoustics and Ultrasonics
 - Unit 5: AC circuits
- f. The wording in some of the laboratory experiments rearranged to reflect the aim of the experiment.
- g. It was suggested to mention as note that a student shall perform a minimum of 8 experiments out of 11 experiments in a semester.

The above suggestions have been incorporated in the curriculum

It is resolved to approve proposed syllabi First BE Engineering Physics (I-semester) and Applied Physics (II-semester) both theory and practical under CBCS for the academic year 2016-2017 with above suggestions.

3. Approval of Syllabus to Bridge Course with effect from 2017-18 academic year.

The proposed syllabus in Physics "**PHYSICS OF MATERIALS** "for the Bridge course offered at 2/4 BE level to the lateral entry students, is presented to the members and informed that this course is an audit course having no credits, however passing the course is mandatory to obtain the degree.

It is resolved to approve the syllabus to Bridge Course offered at 2/4 BE level to the lateral entry students with effect from 2017-18 academic year

4. Approval of curriculum of two open electives

It is proposed to offer two open electives in Physics to the students under CBCS. Students of any branch can opt for the open electives. The following open electives namely Advance quantum mechanics for Engineers and Nano materials and Nano technology.

The contents of these two open electives have been presented by Dr.G. Ramadevudu to the members.

The members appreciated for introducing open electives. Prof. Anjan Giri suggested new reference books for Advance quantum mechanics for Engineers. The members also suggested to introduced open elective in I and II semesters of third year B.E

It is resolved to approve the syllabi of the above two open elective courses.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks by Prof. A.S. Sai Prasad, Head and chairman, Department of Physics

Araipresche

Prof. A.S. Sai Prasad Head and chairman Department of Physics

Vasavi College of Engineering Physics Department of 2nd Board of Studies in Physics Meeting of Date: 12.07.2016 S.NO Name of the member Designation Status Scanature Dr. Anjan Kumar Giri 1 Prof & Head 00 nominee 11T- Hyderabad Dept. of Physics Prof 6-Head 2. Dr. D. Suresh Babu Subject Dept. of Physics expert. . Osmania University Hyderabod 4 Dr. J. Siva kumar Prof & Chairman, 3. Subject BOS in Physics 12724 expert Pept of Physics ١ Osmania University Hyderabad . vSr Dr. V. Satjanarayona Muithy Aset. Prof. Subject Dept. of Physics expert BITS- PILANI Hyderavad. Dr. P. Hadhusudhana Rap Prof. subject 5. oppert. Dept of Physics JNTU- Hyderabo chairman Bos (AK Prof. & Head Dr. A.S. Saiprasad 1 pr. H. Ramalingerwara Dept. Jac Aseoc. Prof kao 7. 11 ASSOC. Prof. P. Venkateswara Rad 8. Dr. Asrow Irof V. Ravi Kumar 1 9. Dr. 1 Dr. G. Ramadevudu Asst . Prof 4 10 Asses - Inf Mr. T. Satish Kunas 11 11+